Skip to content

Weekly Writing Exercise

May 22, 2014

Take one gesture and one line of dialogue from each of the lists, and use them both somewhere in the same piece of writing (if you have a go at this I’d love to see what you come up with!):

Dialogue

“I never liked him much anyway.”

“You’re not my mother.”

“Define ‘drinking problem’.”

“Are you listening to me?”

“Did you hear that?”

“I think I’ve been looking at this map upside down.”

“I thought you had the tickets.”

“Can we go back and start over?”

“It’s that dog or me – your choice.”

“All I said was, It’s not the best haircut you’ve ever had.”

“Oh, I love to dance!”

“I’m getting too old for this.”

Gesture

He ground out his cigarette and dropped it on the ground.

She leaned back and lifted up her hair.

He glanced over his shoulder.

She tugged at the hem of her skirt.

He stroked his beard.

She tapped her pen rapidly against the table.

He picked up his glass and, finding it empty, lifted it to his lips regardless.

She reached for the sugar bowl, then snatched her hand back.

He busied himself with untangling his headphones cord.

She curled up on the couch, hugging her knees tightly.

He turned up his jacket collar and thrust his hands into his pockets.

She rummaged through her handbag.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

