Skip to content

Limericks

August 11, 2017
tags:

I’m encouraging my class to develop their skills creating  consistent metre and rhythm in poetry. We started with one of the simplest poetic forms – the limerick.  
I confined myself to suburbs in my home town of Melbourne. 

A certain composer from Coburg
Desired to see a real iceberg.
She sailed the Atlantic
Till she was so frantic
Her concertos resembled Schoenberg.

A certain young lady from Brunswick
Made puns till her husband was pun-sick
He cried, “Please desist
Or you’ll no more be kissed
For this knot we have tied I will unpick.”

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

